When life gives you lemons…

Third: I’ve been dying for something really naughty lately, and this did the trick

Lemon Cream with Blackberries

Serves 4

  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup honey (I used less and added it to taste)
  • 1 package (12 ounces) silken tofu, firm or extra-firm, drained (I used firm, and the end result was similar to ricotta cheesecake. I think if you use softer tofu the blended result will be silkier so it’s your preference really)
  • 1 cup fresh blackberries (I used frozen and defrosted them)

Directions

  1. Combine 2 1/2 teaspoons of the lemon zest, lemon juice, honey, and tofu in a blender.
  2. Puree ingredients until smooth, scraping down sides of blender with rubber spatula as necessary.
  3. Divide lemon cream evenly among four bowls or serving glasses. Garnish each portion with blackberries and reserved lemon zest. Serve immediately or refrigerate.

I LOVE this and will totally make it from now on. It’s crazy easy, healthy, fresh, and it’s nice to have something to go for when you want to feel a little decadent.

So, that was my weekend. I finished off Sunday evening with a mud face mask, a hot shower, and watched some films with a Swede and a cat called Tom. Pas mal…

PS. I shall also preemptively mention that I spent a considerable amount of time playing Smurfville on my phone (offline doesn’t necessarily make it less disgraceful, does it? Does mentioning that I also played copious amounts of Sudoku and crossword puzzles lessen the shame? To me, yes it does.)

Image and recipe: Whole Living

Leave a Reply

