Every once in a great while

I’m productive… it seems that with this wintery weather, all I want to do is hibernate. I love being in my pajamas under the blankets or on the sofa watching movies. I hate riding my bike in the cold. It could be due to me not having an effective hat so the cold air just goes right through it to my ears, but it’s not nice. When I get home from work, sometimes all I can think about is taking a bath, or making a cup of tea and crawling under something warm, so I end up skipping the grocery store and just scrounge around the house for anything reasonably edible.

Recently this has been Wasa crackers with butter, Wasa crackers with cream cheese and cranberry sauce, pasta, and… pasta. Anyway, I got fed up with that (and eating both breakfast and lunch at work) and finally went to the store tonight. I ended up buying a load of nice food like dried legumes, fruit, tofu, my favorite yogurt, and vegetables. When I got back, I made a delicious soup that I found here. I forgot to take a photo of my own serving, and the rest was already put into plastic containers, so I’m using the site’s version.

Here’s the recipe, including my changes.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (just pour some in)
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced (or more, I usually add obscene amounts of garlic to anything)
  • 3 celery stalks, finely diced (I don’t like celery and I almost skipped it, but don’t, it was actually really nice)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped tomatoes (I used 3 large plum tomatoes)
  • 1 1/2 cups dried red lentils (This stuff expands like mad, so my suggestion is prepare it separately and add it to the soup towards the end to the desired thickness. Whatever you have left over can be frozen and used for something else)
  • 1 turnip, peeled and diced (I couldn’t find a turnip, so I roughly chopped 3 small potatoes with the skin on)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (Use fresh, it matters!)
  • 1 teaspoon red-wine vinegar
  • 2 Vegetable bouillon cubes (My add-on as I found it to be rather bland otherwise)
  • Coarse salt and pepper
  • Chili Flakes (My add-on, I like my soup like I like my men… heartburn inducing)

Directions

  1. In a pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion, garlic, and celery; cook, stirring, until tender, 6 to 8 minutes.
  2. Increase heat to high and add tomatoes; cook for 1 minute. Add lentils, turnip, potatoes, bouillon, and 6 cups water.
  3. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until lentils are tender, 20 to 25 minutes. Stir in parsley and vinegar. Season with salt and pepper.

So that’s ALL you do, and this yields approx 8-10 servings. So I’ll fill my freezer with this and enjoy it for the next couple of weeks. I have more ideas for cooking, those include making my own veggie burgers with chickpeas and brown rice, a bean stew, a calcium rich smoothie with vegetables and fruit mixed (crazy!), and some dried fruit crunchies rolled with flax and sesame seeds. I’ll post more about those as I make them

Via: Whole Living

Leave a Reply

