Food Matters

Tonight I tried 2 totally new food things, which I am quite excited about. I found my inspiration from a wellness plan on Whole Living… I’d read somewhere on the web that a lot of vegans make veggie smoothies in order to boost their vitamins and calcium intake and that kale (or in Dutch: boerenkool) is a prime option, so I made a green smoothie. I used about a cup of chopped kale, a handful of fresh parsley, fresh basil, half a banana, frozen mango chunks, and a spoon of creamed honey. I’m just going to be really honest and say that it tasted VERY healthy. Had I have used soy milk instead of water it may have been better. I’m thinking fruit with a stronger flavor would be another option. I found this section on the Whole Living site with 25 Smoothie Recipes that look amazing.

After that, I made dinner. Let it be known that I’m not a fan of eggs. I don’t like the idea of them, I don’t like where they come from, I don’t like how they taste, smell, or look. Putting my disdain for eggs aside, I do like the idea of scrambled eggs, quiche, cake, cookies, and other things made with eggs. When I was little, my grandpa used to make me an omelet with broccoli and cheese with toast. I really liked them! I think I just liked the cheese though… My solution to this issue, was to try a recipe for a tofu scramble. I was thinking that an “egg” burrito sounded pretty appealing, so I went ahead and followed the recipe below, substituting collard greens for spinach. Again, I didn’t take a photo, so here’s the image from the site:

First, I want to say up front that they weren’t amazing. I followed the recipe, and even added more turmeric (kurkuma), garlic, and ginger to taste, but they were really missing something (and don’t say it was eggs!). I toasted a corn tortilla and stuffed it with the scramble, and squirted some Sriracha on it, which usually makes the blandest of foods better. What would I do differently next time? Maybe I’d try it with curry. I’d definitely use some fresh herbs, and possibly a touch of cheese… goat or feta, and some olives even. The tofu is going to need supplemental flavor regardless, and you need to look for ingredients that will increase the taste experience, but without having to add too much salt. I’ll definitely try something like this again and often, since it’s quite easy to make, to reheat, and it’s nice for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, so that works with my lifestyle.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
  • 3 collard green leaves, stems removed, cut into 1/2-inch pieces (or a load of washed spinach)
  • 8 ounces firm tofu (preferably organic), drained and crumbled
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook garlic, onion, turmeric, and ginger until vegetables are tender, 3 to 4 minutes. Stir in collard greens and 2 tablespoons water and cook until greens are bright green and tender, about 2 minutes.
  2. Add crumbled tofu and cook, stirring, until heated through, about 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
Leave a Reply

