I feel raw

I’m not really sure if my health initiative will be lasting and successful, but I’ve been invigorated and have started preparing all sorts of amazing foods this past week. It started with the discovery of Choosing Raw, a blog focused on eating whole, mostly raw and unprocessed foods and overall, enjoying food and eating in a different way. Finding joy in cooking is very important for me, and I think there is a distinct difference between preparing something processed from a box, or a frozen meal over something that you handle, and chop, and flavour on your own.

One factor that has made my exploration of new recipes SO much easier is the purchase of a blender and food processor. I’ve quickly fallen in love with them and have no idea how I survived my life without them. Blenders are fairly common to have in the house, but food processors, not so much.

I haven’t been very good about taking photographs of my endeavours, but the links provided have a ton of step by step instructions and images.

High Protein Hemp Hummus: WOW so easy and delicious. I’ll never buy store made again, unless I’m pressed for time or traveling. Even if you’re pressed for time, you can use canned chick peas and it still takes less than 15 minutes to prepare!!

1/4 cup shelled hemp seeds 1 can chickpeas, drained, or 2 cups freshly cooked (heat before blending for ideal consistency) 1/2 tsp salt (or to taste) 2-3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice 1 small clove garlic, minced 1 tbsp tahini (optional) 1/2 tsp cumin Water

You put this stuff in a processor and mix it up. Add water until you have the desired creaminess. It’s nice that with this recipe, you omit using oil all together, so it lowers the calorie impact and also removes the processed ingredient factor. The hemp seeds on their own have a nutty flavor but here you can’t really taste them due to the tahini, lemon, and garlic.

Image and recipe via: Choosing Raw

Leave a Reply

